Journaling your way to clarity

Life’s a funny thing and I’m realising more and more that it’s the journey that matters more than the outcomes. We have to enjoy the journey and we have to have fun along the way. The problem is though if we don’t know where we are going and why, we will just end up going round in circles.

The past 2 years I have used the 5 minute journal which has been a fantastic tool and it really helps me cultivate gratitude, positive affirmations and helps me know what I want to achieve in my day. What I have been missing though is journalling without structure, to allow a creative flow inside my soul to really help reveal my deepest dreams and passions. I must say though, I am only 2 weeks into this type of journalling first thing in the morning and I absolutely love it. It’s been a nice shift from the goal orientated writing in the 5 minute journal, that became just another thing to check off my list, although I don’t want to take away from the 5 minute journal and it’s effectiveness. I think when I go back to using it though, I will be able to approach it with a different mindset and get more out of it.

I’ve had quite a few conversations recently discussing dreams, goals, purpose and down this rabbit hole. I love these conversations because they really make me look deep inside to answer them, without journalling though I’ve found myself without answers. Since journaling I have found that I can answer these with much more clarity which then helps me with my daily decisions because I have become so clear with what my mission is.

Journaling is for everyone and everyone will benefit, regardless of your walk of life. If you don’t know where to start either check out the 5 minute journal  or just get a pen and paper and start writing. Have a conversation with yourself and really get to know who you are. Shut out all the noise and really listen to YOU.

Dan Hodge

Leave a Reply

